The heat is on!

At a guess, it must have been at least 30°C this afternoon and the vegetables have been romping away. Below are the broad beans, which have developed phenomenally over the last few days.

image

I hadn’t expected to be able to pick them for a while yet, so I was delighted that there were some ready for my tea tonight.

Other vegetables I am pleased about are the cabbages and lettuce. I can’t believe the latter are doing anything at all in the current temperatures, but I think the fertility of the soil is playing its part!

image

At the same time, I think it is about time I gave them a water. We have not had any rain for about two weeks and it is starting to show in other parts of the garden. Look at the tomato plant my parents gave me last weekend. It certain looks as though it is suffering.

image

The tomatoes should be black in colour, so I am quite intrigued. The one I have indoors is flowering and I might therefore being getting a glimpse of its fruit soon.

Another flowering vegetable is the pumpkin, which you can see behind the black tomato. At the moment, it has two tiny pumpkins on it and I do hope the conditions this year will mean I have two fruit for jack-o’-lanterns at the appropriate time of year.

This fourth summer of growing my own is definitely my best. I am still learning and could have had even more going on in the garden but I am, nonetheless, very pleased 🙂

© Helen Butt, July 2013.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The heat is on!

  1. I just looked back at your “about” and see a comment from me on July 7th last year and seems we had bad high winds then……wow ! We had 30’s last week and down to a manageable 24 this week, but it’s suppose to rise again by Thursday!!! I only hope we will still be allowed to water our veggies ! But there is some fierce growth this year, it’s so amazing!!!

    • Amazing how different our summer is this year! I hope you will still be allowed to water your veggies. I have water left from the rains last summer (!) and use the water from cleaning fruit and veg for meals. That seems to have been enough so far, but I do have a much smaller space than you.

      • Well all my barrels are full, but don’t know how long they will last through this heatwave. I am soaking at every opportunity so the soil will remain moist. We could have drought conditions soon and be stopped from watering 😦 Green Ireland could turn brown soon!

  2. Its been 30C here too for several days. I know there must be stuff that needs picking in the garden, but the heat and humidity have been keeping me out of it. I’ll feel awful if I miss my opportunity for beans and peas though – so I’ll have to suck it up and get out there.

    • I know the feeling. On the whole, I have been waiting till it is evening before venturing out. Wanted to show my parents the garden last weekend but the heat was so ferocious we didn’t linger!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

