Take ’em in or leave ’em out?

As this is the first time I have grown runner beans, I have no expectations. In other words, I do not know if I leave the beans pictured on the plant below for another week they will get bigger and better or if they will simply become stringy and less pleasant.

A colleague has put in a request for home-grown runner beans, so it would be nice to keep them for her next week. My garden only seems to produce in handfuls, so there is no guarantee of more if I pick them now. Or rather more will be a handful at some point but it might not be a quality handful.

image

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Take ’em in or leave ’em out?

  1. Connie says:

    The beans will grow bigger still – but at some stage, you will have to shell them and eat the beans inside…. We pick our beans at different sizes – small ones are cooked whole, bigger beans are cut into smallish pieces and then cooked, and served as salad. Our beans continue to produce beans until early October. So if you see flowers, don’t worry – there will be more beans to come!

  2. mybrightlife says:

    They look pretty good right now!

  3. Karen says:

    I tend to pick my beans while they are on the small side. I pick them everyday or two and keep them in a ziplock bag in the refrigerator until I have enough for a meal.

  4. Jane says:

    I have just got back from my hols, got so many had told Mark to pick the large ones and eat them ( great on toast with melted cheese on top) he didn’t though… ate some large ones tonight with Luke and slices thinly just using my kiwi peeler to skim the edge, were not as good as smaller but as picked and cooked fresh still better than the shop ones!!! Think its a personal choice, but I do overall prefer them smaller as they tend to be more tender.. whilst the flowers are still flowering you could get them for some weeks yet. xxx

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

