Inside and out

I can’t believe we are inundate with produce at the moment – to the extent that simply can’t eat it all fast enough.

Yesterday, my daughter picked 45 blackberries, which she was thrilled to bits with.

image

Her attention to gardening matters is somewhat sporadic, so I was also thrilled that of her own volition she had been out there and interacted with what was going on. I should add that she does undertake the occasional bit of digging and watering…

Talking of watering, when I was doing such this morning, I noticed that the okra had flowered: one moment there was a lady’s finger, the next it had been replaced by what can only be described as some kind of flower.

image

I was a bit dissppointed by this, having been hopeful that this would grow into something edible. However, my disappointment was soon overtaken by happiness when I saw that a black tomato was ripening in my room. These taste a little different from red ones, which is quite interesting.

image

Outside, I noticed this evening that my one apple is starting to turn a golden colour. A beastie has had a little nibble but I think the fruit will still be edible. Fortunately, I don’t think I need to pick this yet, though I think it would go very well with the blackberries 🙂

image

© Helen Butt, September 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

