Not bolting but flowering!

Ah! Now I know what the flower on my okra plant meant…

The other day, when I opened the living room curtains, I was presented with the following view:

image

This is truly the most beautiful flower I have ever seen. It also means that a lady’s finger is about to grow from this spot, as has already happened where I saw the first flower which led me to believe the plant was bolting. Thank goodness I decided to see what happened next rather than removing it to the compost bin.

So, the green pointed protuberances I thought were okra fruit are in fact buds.

Next year, I am going to plant lots of okra. If I session sow, I could be getting these flowers for a number of weeks throughout the summer 🙂

image

©Helen Butt, September 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Not bolting but flowering!

  1. They are pretty – worth planting just for the flowers. I’ve never tried growing okra, so I had no idea that they flower.

    • Me neither, though it is logical that they would! Now, I wonder if the flowers always come one at a time or if the plant would normally produce a lot together, otherwise I am going to need a lot of plants for one meal of okra….

  2. Pobept says:

    If you like okra flowers, you should plant a few cotton plants. almost identical flower (they are cousins) and as a plus you get a plant covered in cotton puffs after it stops flowering.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

