A fallen apple

Last night, the wind got up and I noticed that something was missing from the apple tree. Then it dawned on me that the missing piece was in fact the solitary apple.

image

Fortunately, it was on the ground unscathed. Less fortunately, I am not sure that it is fully ripened as it is supposed to be a russet colour. Never mind, in due course it will get eaten…..

Aside from the apple itself, I also noticed the tree swaying as though there was a minor earthquake. Mmmm!

It took me longer to work out that the swaying was due to the string holding it to its stake no longer being there. Poor tree – it is indeed having a battle to grow because there is so little top soil, but plenty of rubble underneath, from where the housebuilders must have left it when they demolished the school which used to be on this site. No wonder the apple fell off: the branches are still thin after three years of growing.

We will, however, perservere πŸ˜‰

Β©Helen Butt, September 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to A fallen apple

  1. andy1076 says:

    mmmmm! can’t say I ever seen an apple this color before 0.o maybe the tree was trying to tell you ‘Hellooo falling over here!’ πŸ˜›

  2. I feel bad for the poor little apple, shaken out of his home too soon.. πŸ™‚

  3. The lone apple. Worthy of your special post.

  4. Well, better that it fell on your property than on the railroad tracks. When we were little, we used to say, “An apple fell on the railroad tracks feeling sad and cross. Around the bend came No. 10, Toot! Toot! Applesauce!”

    • This apple should have been made into apple sauce – far too tart. Not sure if that is because it needed to ripen more or if it is a cooking apple (was sure I had bought an eating apple tree, but will now look it up to be sure).

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

