It’s deciduous!!!

Now, I had been wondering for a week or so why the leaves on my Japanese maple were starting to curl up. I thought that perhaps it was because it was getting too big for its pot – or worse, it was suffering from some terrible disease. If the latter, I was already in the early stages of feeling heart-broken.

Anyway, at the weekend, I repotted the acer, in the hope that it would be revitalised. That didn’t happen. So, this evening, I have done an internet search and now I know. Or at least I hope it is simply losing its leaves because it is autumn!

image

On my internet travels, I also learned that Japanese maples prefer acidic soils… Not a problem at the moment as it is in compost rather than my garden soil. They also prefer to be out of the full sun in a sheltered position… Which might be a problem as my patio cannot be said to be shady or sheltered.

In other words, my tree might be the first vegetation apart from grass to venture into the front garden. Although the front faces in a northerly direction, it does get the sun for about half the day, but in the summer it has moved round, so there is no glaring midday heat on that side. Perfect maybe?

Β©Helen Butt, September 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s deciduous!!!

  1. andy1076 says:

    You’re really incredible with the way you’re growing these plants πŸ™‚

  2. Yes it does lose it’s leaves every year. Mine is also still in it’s pot for about 5 years. I bring it into my tunnel every winter, but it is not necessary,but it does grow it’s leaves back earlier than if left outside.Hope this helps you πŸ™‚

  3. Danielle says:

    I hope it’s not dying! phew! Yay for internet research! πŸ™‚

  4. We have one, too. They’re beautiful trees. Ours runs the gamut of red, purple, green and brown…(not in that order) leaves. You’ll continue to love that tree.

  5. Sadly autumn has crept up on all of us and surprised us this year. I have a few things that are well in to their autumn cycle and many that are refusing to accept that summer is over. I am concerned that they will be harmed by an early winter arrival.

    • I hope that winter will stay away as long as possible!

      Interesting that we are suffering the same weather, though, across the globe…. I love this aspect of blogging: seeing what is going on in other countries πŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

