Onions in the compost heap

Turning the compost heap is a job I least look forward to. So, I’ve been finding plenty to do besides getting out with my spade. However, after a rather stressful day trying to sort out photographs on my laptop, a bit of heavy manual work is just what I needed to put me right!

I am actually really pleased with the compost: very like the real thing. So, I transferred the most ready into my bin for finishing off and gave the newly turned heap a good watering. Now, it is ready for winter. There’s enough space for what will come out of the garden over the next few weeks and from the kitchen over the next few months. Then all being well, the bottom will be ready for the finishing bin πŸ™‚

One thing I was surprised about was the onions I found in the compost heap as I turned it. They must have grown from something I put there after preparing a meal, although perhaps they are not onions at all…….

image

Anyway, I have planted them in the garden to see what happens. If they are onions,Β  it is unlikely they are the overwintering kind. That said, the ones I bought especially last winter struggled, so these will simply be a pleasant surprise if they come to something!

Β©Helen Butt, September 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Onions in the compost heap

  1. andy1076 says:

    A mysterious surprise! can’t go wrong πŸ™‚

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

