Do slugs like tomatoes?

I’ve just been outside to collect lettuce and tomatoes for my evening meal. The tomatoes, being outside rather than in a greenhouse, have been ripening but slowly, so I’ve actually been picking them when they are orange rather than red.

Today, however, I was delighted to see a beautiful red one. Until it came off the vine….

image

I was quite astonished! I couldn’t think of anything that could have nibbled it so. But then I took a closer look and noticed something that I am sure is slug trails. Ew!

The garden has had very little attention from the slugs this year, so it really is a disappointment that one of them has chosen a choice tomato for a not insubstantial snack. At the same time, I have to admire it for slithering up to reach the fruit. And at least this tomato fed something rather than going in the municipal garden waste bin, due to rotting, which is what I have had to do with two of the others. These were still in fact green, so I am even more surprised about that.

Never mind, there are plenty more. Some orange and some green. Now, let them all stay healthy and intact, so that I can have a few more salads and several jars of chutney 😉

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Do slugs like tomatoes?

  1. andy1076 says:

    Guess even the slugs are feasting for the coming hibernation huh!

  2. bridget says:

    I found a slug eating my biggest Green Zebra yesterday…not happy!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

