Cabbage in the kitchen

The seedling cabbages have been begging for more room for a while now, so this afternoon I thinned them out. Which left me with quite a lot of decent leaves to eat.

I recently experimented with dumplings and discovered a way I could make something resembling one of the kinds I had eaten in China. So, I made some dough in the breadmaker, fried some mince with spring onions and then got to work with the final product.

image

I rolled out small circles of dough, filled them with the mince and folded over the pastry to make what looked like mini Cornish pasties. These I then wrapped in cabbage leaves, held in place by string (an idea from a Chinese colleague).

I had no idea how long to steam them for – just kept lifting the pan lid and prodding till they seemed done. They might have been slightly on the chewy side but hey they still tasted good enough for my daughter to eat!

With a lot of leaves left over, I then followed an idea I got from an Italian colleague about frying cabbage. On this occasion, I first fried an onion with cayenne pepper, turmeric and onion salt. Then in went the cabbage, sliced into small strips. This cabbage does have quite a strong taste, so it is not the delightful dish I had hoped for, but it will make a change from coleslaw 🙂

image

© Helen Butt, October 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cabbage in the kitchen

  1. bridget says:

    Always good to experiment with flavours. Learning by doing means we remember so much better.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

