The Halloween Pumpkin

image

Halloween was a lot of fun. On our housing estate there are a large number of families, some of whom did trick or treating individually or, like us, in a group with children from the same year at school. In any case, there was a festive atmosphere with houses decorated in cobwebs and ghouls and seemingly everyone out on the streets. And it didn’t even rain.

The day before, we had carved the pumpkin from the garden and then we took it trick or treating to hold the sweets. It is still fairly full but the question now is what to do with the pumpkin flesh.

Last year, I made pumpkin soup (tastier than I’d expected) and chutney (last jar given away as I was starting to feel pumpkined out). So, what about this year? I have many pounds of the stuff to use up and I don’t want it all to languish in the freezer indefinitely.

To my relief, I have found a recipe for pumpkin gnocchi, which I am in the process of making. The pumpkin is baking in the slow cooker (wrapped in foil) and the potatoes are being steamed, as I write. So, it looks like these will be taken to friends’ tomorrow instead of the pizzas I’d been planning to make. I think I had better try them first…..

© Helen Butt, November 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Halloween Pumpkin

  1. bridget says:

    Pumkpin Gnocchi…like the sound of that. Bit of a change from pumpkin soup too.

  2. Pumpkin gnocchi sound terrific…I’m sorry your dish didn’t turn out properly.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

