Toasted pumpkin seeds

image

My daughter’s having a homemade-pizza party this afternoon, so I’ve been busy sorting out the dough. This includes frying the pizza bases as we don’t have a functioning oven at present.

Sitting beside me have been the pumpkin seeds taken from the Halloween pumkin at the end of last month. Previously, I have discarded them – in the first year, they went in the compost bin, which led to some interesting vegetation the next year….. Fortunately, in my area there is a food waste collection, so I was able to put them in there in subsequent years, thereby not entirely wasting them.

However, realising that I could in fact eat them means they really will not be going to waste. Maybe I could have them with pizza!

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

