Up with the garden path continued

Well, the time scale is a bit out! I had originally intended to have the back half of the garden fully landscaped by the end of this year. But sowing, tending, harvesting and using put a stop to that.

Those of you who have been following my blog may recall that in the spring I took up the flagstones from the garden path and started to collect the pebbles between the stones. I even managed to sell these pebbles through Ebay!

However, today I felt the inspiration – perhaps courage – to proceed with my garden make-over. The sticking point had been the wood that kept the path sepatate from the border. It had seemed like heavy work.

So, when I gave the wood a tug this afternoon and it refused to budge, my first thought was that I might simply have to change my plans. Then I got the spade out and dug away the soil round the planks.

Hurray! Each of them came up with relative ease after that. And, although the wood is a little rotten in places, I am sure it can be repurposed πŸ˜‰

The garden already looks better for the work I’ve just done. I can see the real beginning of the end of the path now and hopefully more space for the leisure area I intend.

image

I wonder what I should do next?

Β© Helen Butt, November 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Up with the garden path continued

  1. andy1076 says:

    Maybe a water fountain for the next upcoming landscaping project? πŸ™‚

  2. mybrightlife says:

    Change is always good. Good luck!

    • Thank you! The work does need doing for practical reasons as much as aesthetic…. Still a long way to go but I think I have turned a corner. I just hope the weather is kind this winter so that I can get on with as much work as possible.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

