The Allotment Plot

I can’t believe my luck! Back in April a friend took me up to her allotment as she said there were some plots going and I might like to have a look around. I duly put my name down on the waiting list but there weren’t any free right there and then.

A week gone Thursday that all changed. At work I got an email to invite me to have a look at the allotments that Saturday. So, we went up and got to choose the plot we wanted….. As with finding a place to live, I just knew that the one in the photo below was the one for me.

image

It is a bit overgrown but I don’t think it will take too much effort to sort it out. I’m so excited – apart from observing the rules of the allotment I have carte blanche to make the plot what I want it to be.

Looking around the site, I can see that other allotment holders are doing some interesting things on their plots. I would have felt a bit cheeky taking photos without their permission but one of the things I was most impressed by was a greenhouse made out of plastic drinks bottles. There were also plants I had never seen before, and in general the working plots were flourishing.

I was also pleased to learn that the tenants on either side of me are organic gardeners, so we won’t be contaminating each other with chemicals. In the meantime, I already have some leeks which the last tenants left.

image

Of course, I will continue to work on my back garden at the same time and this blog will still let you know what is happening on that front. I can however grow so much more of my own now and dedicate my garden to creating a slightly different leisure space to enjoy.

To that end, I have brought home some Honesty which has been growing on the plot. Now I need to find out where the best place to plant it would be. Then tomorrow it is off to the allotment to start the clearing work in earnest πŸ™‚

Β©Helen Butt, November 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Allotment Plot

  1. andy1076 says:

    This is going to be an awesome project πŸ™‚

  2. Congratulations on your new allotment. You will have fun πŸ™‚

  3. Clearing land, although a ton of work, is so rewarding. Good luck with your plot, and happy gardening!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

