Welcome to Wonder World

The soil! After four years of toiling with the stuff in my back garden, I was overjoyed to find digging so easy on the allotment this afternoon. It is dark and soft. And in the patch I worked earlier, it also gave me a kilo of potatoes!

image

The plot is of course covered in the ubiquitous dandelions and couch grass. But with the help of my daughter we filled almost three large charity bags, the kind that come regularly through the postbox, with the overgrowth. That took about an hour, so at the going rate it will take the winter to get the plot in tip-top shape. On the other hand, the land might not need the carpet treatment I subjected my own lawn to, in order to get rid of that (cf blogpost The Beige Carpet).

I am still very excited about the prospect of gardening on the allotment, not least because I am hopeful of much better returns than I am so far used to. It looks like 2014 is going to be a good year already 🙂

© Helen Butt, November 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Welcome to Wonder World

  1. Wow, great soil and great unexpected harvest, you are on a roll,Helen !

  2. That soil looks perfect, and lucky you finding a kilo of spuds ! Our crop wasn’t too good this year, I don’t think I watered them enough. Must try harder !LOL

    • Sorry to hear about your potato crop this year – I tend to under-water in attempt to conserve water as much as possible.

      Glad you like the look of my allotment soil. I still can’t believe my luck – just the fact it is easy to dig is such a bonus 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

