One and a half jobs reduced by one!

The aftermath of the storm last Thursday has been slightly protracted. Finding a source for the new fence panel which could deliver just one panel at a reasonable cost meant lots of searching on the internet plus follow-up phone calls and visits to the place that could actually do all this. Interestingly, and thankfully, the place in question was my local garden centre, who were able to provide not only what looks like a super-sturdy specimen but deliver it today, rather than some time in 2014!

That said, I was now left with the challenge of getting the new panel into its posts. Even with the help of my neighbour, I reckoned it would be no straightforward task. Mmm…

As luck would have it, next door on the other side were getting an upgrade on their fence at the same time as having the buckled panels replaced. Unlucky, this did mean my poor fennel got crushed when their workmen knocked my old panel to ground in an attempt to get next door’s panels out. However, the upshot of my dismay was that they offered to put my panel in, so that solved my dilemma of the day 🙂

Incidentally, when the old panel toppled over, it also broke up some more, which has saved me another job. While I will still have some sawing to do to dismantle it, it is going to be an easier proposition now. Besides, the panel has also been placed in altogether better place, so fingers crossed the fennel will suffer no more.

image

Now all I ask is that the gales do not return. I think we have all had quite enough of the banging, sawing and general upheaval over the last fews days 😉

© Helen Butt, December 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

