Who would leave a party to go digging?

Well, in answer to the question in the title to this post, I did!!!

I’m not sure how much time I’m going to have this weekend to get to the allotment, so I decided to make good use of my petrol by going into work for the end of course party and then doing some work on the plot, which is in the same part of the city. I wanted to clear more of the ground of weeds and plant the rest of the packet of onions I opened on Saturday. Of course, there was also the prospect of finding more potatoes, which I did indeed do. In fact, I now have so many that I was able to give a sizeable bag to one of my friends this afternoon.

At the same time, I definitely had a good time talking to the students in a more social setting. And see other talents they have, including cake baking. Thus, here is a photo of some cakes arranged in the design of the Kuwaiti flag.

image

© Helen Butt, December 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Who would leave a party to go digging?

  1. That’s dedication! I love how much you enjoy working your garden/s. Can’t wait to see the fruits (and veggies) of your labor. 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

