Downtime in Wonder World

Well, I shouldn’t complain about having a social life but it was definitely time for a change this morning. I recently read that landscapes had been discovered to be so good for people’s health that public health officials are being urged to improve green spaces, including those at hospitals, in order to promote better health (RHS, The Garden, Jan 2014, page 8). For me, this is a no-brainer as I feel totally revitalised after time spent at the allotment!

Today was mostly spent cutting down the grass which made the plot look more like a meadow than a space in which to grow any vegetables. My daughter loves jobs like this, so there was no challenge in involving her in this task. In fact, we had to fight over who did the cutting and who did the collecting.

Then there was the matter of Christening the new spade. On Christmas Eve, much to her delight, we had found a child-size spade, so now she can join me in digging. At home as well as at the allotment, she insisted 🙂

image

Digging with enthusiasm

I think we have got the last of the guest potatoes out, which is actually quite a relief. They aren’t the tastiest, though whether that is because of the varieties or something else, I wouldn’t like to say. Now, we have to hope that the bed is clear of any leftovers, so that we don’t end up with more of the same in 2014.

On a diffetent note, while we were have a break from our gardening endeavours, we had a discussion about the name of our plot. My daughter had originally decided upon ‘Wonder World’ but today wondered if it should not in fact be ‘Wonderland’. ‘Wonder World’ it is however going to remain, so now we need to get cracking with a welcome-to-our-plot sign. I just need to dry out some of the upcyclable wood from the back garden 😉

© Helen Butt, December 2013

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Downtime in Wonder World

  1. Wonder World sounds like a perfectly good name. Enjoy the labours. 🙂

  2. bridget says:

    Best wishes to you and yours for the year ahead. Happy growing in Wonder World.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

