Silverbells steps out for the first time in 2014

Business resumes, now that the festivities are over…. Was back at work yesterday but my daughter had the delight of being with me in an almost empty department. And this afternoon I spontaneously got the cutters out in order to trim the hawthorn bush at the back of the garden.

It was chilly but sunny when I started the job. Now it’s raining again but the bush is neater and I feel that the new year is under way.

image

This photo perhaps looks similar to the last full garden shot. At the same time, compared with the one on the About page, it looks a very different garden space!!!

All being well, once I have eaten the cabbages towards the back of the garden I will be able to start planting the ornamental plants I bought periodically last year. I need to continue reading up then, so that these can be arranged in such a way that colour is spread across the garden for as much of the year as possible. I am taken with the idea of having as much evergreen as possible, so that the ground never appears to be bare. I would also like to have a variety of heights, though with the garden being quite narrow I think most of the vegetation will need to be relatively short.

All in all, it looks like I am about to embark on many years of fun as I develop my own understanding of gardening and find out more about what works and what doesn’t.

What are your plans for 2014?

© Helen Butt, January 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Silverbells steps out for the first time in 2014

  1. A gardeners job is never done ! Happy times.E

  2. pobept says:

    Have you considered a few flat trellises attached to your fence to soften the visual impact of a harsh looking tall fence?
    More color in a garden is always a good thing.
    Good luck in your plant selection and planting efforts.

    • Thanks for your suggestions. The big black fence is a bit stark, isn’t it? And smaller trellises in front would mean I could grow stuff without fear of the neighbours tearing the plants up if they took the fence out 🙂

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

