The new food challenge, including broccoli

In 2012, I started a challenge (cf The Challenge pages): to eat something every day from my garden. Towards winter this became increasingly difficult, I think as much as anything because I was newer to gardening (garden not established and less knowledge about maximising cropping).

Now, a year on, having acquired a pocket diary for Christmas, I am going to detail what I eat from my own lands (hands, too, mostly, though that can’t be said of the potatoes from the allotment). And so far for 2014 it is looking good!

The mainstay seems to be garlic – stands to reason really, considering its ubiquity in the kitchen. Just as well I planted lots this autumn 🙂

The other day I used the first of my blanched runner beans from the freezer. Yes! They still looked like runner beans and they still tasted like runner beans. They also taste better than the ones at school, apparently. How’s that for a boost to the confidence, coming from the mouth of a seven year old?

The star of the month is, however, purple sprouting broccoli. It is new, it is fresh and if the winter stays mild, it is going to be going like the clappers from now on, I should imagine…..

image

Enjoy your weekend!

© Helen Butt, January 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

