Wonder World eradicates a virus

I’ve been feeling quite rough for a few weeks, either with a continuous viral infection or an unrelenting assault by several. I even put off going to my beloved allotment on Friday due to all the aches and discomfort. Then yesterday the sun was out and I forced myself out the door….

I did want to plant the second of my asparagus crowns and collect a few of the last tenants’ leeks, so achieved both of those. Perhaps just as importantly we ventured out to the local corner shop, so all we need now is the installation of the toilet on the allotment and it will be home-from-home.

image

At the moment, the plot is divided into my half and an undesignated half, which can’t really be rented out because a large part of the plot is taken up with a massive tree stump. The allotment committee plans to get a digger in to removed it but there are no guarantees.

I hope the latter will be the case as the unused space at the back of my plot is like having an extra garden, recreational space for my daughter to play in when she needs a break from the plot. She certainly enjoyed herself yesterday, climbing on the stump and discovering some holly:

image

And when we got home, I crashed out. Two hours’ sleep …. and then the pain had gone. Thank you allotment, I’ll be visiting you more often!

Where is your favourite place to recuperate?

© Helen Butt, January 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Wonder World eradicates a virus

  1. andy1076 says:

    I hope you’ll be feeling better soon! I have to say, my favorite place is just um well anywhere really 🙂 just fresh air! 🙂

  2. You did the right thing by going out in the sun. I have not been myself for the past week either. We’ve had nothing but gray days and snow and more snow. You’ve had some bad weather too as I recall. I have not done any exercise this week! That is not like me! The only exercise I’ve had was shoveling snow and to be fair, there was a lot of it. I was out there this morning shoveling again and I will be shoveling more this weekend because they expect more tonight and a lot more tomorrow! I say shoveling but I use a straw broom. It’s great for the triceps! But when I’m really sick, like with the flu or bronchitis, I climb into bed and pile on the covers. With any luck, I’ve saved some chicken soup in the freezer and just have to warm it up. Then I sleep, and sleep, and watch TV and sleep some more. It’s been a quite a few years since I’ve been that sick. However, news reports are warning everybody about the flu and they are saying people under 18 are not allowed to visit in any of the hospitals because of the flu outbreak! Can you imagine that? I never heard of that before! So, I’m trying to stay away from people although I had a conversation with a young pregnant woman at the supermarket today and she seemed sick and was standing too close. She was telling me that all she could eat was what was on the checkout counter: grapes, jicama, and a few other things. I told her she was going to lose weight and she needed to gain weight! She is having nausea problems. Anyway, I hope I don’t catch anything! I’m getting paranoid! Sleep is very important! I’m putting together a post on sleep coincidentally. I’ll probably publish it tomorrow or at least soon. I’ve already published an article on sleep and I’ll link my blog post to the article for more information.

    Cheers!

    • Looking forward to reading your post on sleep, Marcella! And I hope you don’t pick up any nasty bugs.

      Fortunately, where I live we haven’t had any bad weather – maybe the snow is going to give us a miss this year? I’d say though the shovelling snow definitely counts as exercise….

      • Yes, well I’m going to get my snow exercise again today….and probably once or twice in the coming week! Everybody here is sick of winter already! Yes, I’m going to publish the sleep post today I think. It’s already written. I will re-read it and if I think it’s OK, it will get published. If I think it needs filling out, well then it might get published today, depending on how much more I want to add to it. Frankly, I could use some sleep today! zzzzzzzzzzz LOL.

        • I hope the snow comes to nothing this week – it might be beautiful but it creates so much inconvenience!

          • Thank you for your hopeful wishes. Unfortunately, they aren’t going to come true because sub-zero temperatures are predicted again for this week. Today is sunny and 30’ish degrees so it’s helping to melt the snow, but I’m afraid we’re going to have power outages again next week. I’ve already stocked up on food so I don’t need to do any shopping. This winter has been brutal. So many people have had tire blowouts due to the potholes created by the snow. Make sure your tires have the correct amount of air! That helps! I think we’re going to have a bad drought again this summer since we’re using up all our “allowed” water in the form of snow now!

          • Sounds like you’re in for a miserable time! Yes, keep those tyres pumped….

          • As long as my power doesn’t go out, and it hasn’t in years, I should be fine. There were also a lot of water main breaks with the last storm. We’re told to let the water run in a stream at our kitchen and bathroom faucets to prevent freezing. I’ve got natural “drips” LOL so I don’t have to worry about pipes freezing. My biggest problem is getting “cabin fever!”

          • It’s horrible when your pipes freeze – mine did once, although fortunately they didn’t burst…. Cabin is not fun – we got the over here in the winter of 2010/11. Mind you, it’s mostly due to our infrastructure not being geared up for colder than freezing during the day…

          • I have a more optimistic outlook for the upcoming freeze. By now, all the tree branches that fell on the power lines from the last freeze have been trimmed and the lines repaired. (Although my neighbor at the corner still has a huge branch on his front lawn.) What did you do when your pipes froze? Call a plumber? Turn up the heat and open the cabinet doors? Get out the hairdryers and warm the pipes up? Really, the news reporters here don’t talk about the cure, only the bad news! All the potholes have been filled but the roads are very bumpy because the fill material isn’t smoothed out much. I’m just not worried as I was last week. People here really suffered and I felt bad for them. 11 people died. 2 on my side of town, elderly women, a 70 yr old and an 80 yr old sweeping the snow. At the rate the city is going, we’re going to run out of road salt before the end of the season. Schools closed and kids stayed home the entire week because it was the 2nd heaviest snowfall on record! I bet they enjoyed it though! : – )

          • Bet the kids did, yes! I think we ran out of salt the same year as my pipes froze – I ended up using dishwasher salt on my drive as even table salt was not on the shelves. As for unblocking my pipes, I kept the cabinet door open (central heating on) with an electric fan blasting onto the affected area. Took about two days to work, so was a bit nasty….

            Best thing to avoid the pipes blocking is to maintain heat in the area(s) likely to be affected (say above 10°C) and to draw the water as normal (ie we were on holiday so the system was not getting used).

          • Wow! Two days! that’s awful! Ah, you were on holiday, no wonder.

            We did get our snow but it wasn’t that bad. We are supposed to have more snow tomorrow. It was very sunny today but windy. They had a 2-hr delay for the school kids. I thought that was crazy. It was too cold for kids to be standing outside waiting for a school bus. Administrators had some big conference today to decide when the kids should make up the days they missed. That seem so stupid to me. Why don’t they just have a rule that they automatically add the days missed to the last day of the school year. That way they don’t have to hold a big conference over it. It seems so ridiculous. Or, am I missing something?

          • No, I think some people like to have conferences!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

