Too much CSI?

As a friend of my daughter’s had a birthday party this afternoon, I was able to slip off to the allotment for an hour or so…..

I wasn’t really in the mood for digging, but a girl’s gotta do what a girl’s gotta do. And it was definitely good to get a top-up of fresh air and exercise.

What I hadn’t banked on was finding the digging unusually difficult this time. I decided that the remaining leeks needed to come out so that I could clear that part of the plot of dandelions and couch grass – and I was amazed that the ground was so full of these unwanted guests, considering this area had presumably been cultivated in the last 12 months. Maybe the previous occupants had used fertiliser instead of weedkiller?

In any case, I got another big bag of roots and leaves to take away with me. And then my spade hit something hard.

Oh! this was the first obstruction I had found on the allotment. And it was a black polythene bag filled with something. Somewhat in trepidation I took a peek inside – what was I going to find?

Images of scenes from CSI came to mind. The polystyrene the bag actually contained therefore came as a relief… Not a complete relief though. After all, this is hardly the way to dispose of one’s rubbish, unless it happens to be a lesser know gardening technique that clearly I am not up to speed with πŸ˜‰

image

In clearing out all this debris, I did unfortunately dig up another rhubarb crown but I also discovered two others which appear to be thriving. So, looks like there will be plenty of rhubarb ‘n’ custard in my house this spring πŸ™‚

image

Β© Helen Butt, January 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Too much CSI?

  1. Oh dear, you must have got a bit of a fright thinking what that could be!! Glad it was not πŸ™‚
    I am sure you can replant the rhubarb crown that you dug up πŸ™‚

    • Have decided not to replant the rhubarb as I think I have a lot already and it will take up space I would like for something else. I guess I am going to come across more of this on a new plot! At least, I hope it will be edible rather than something else πŸ˜‰

  2. andy1076 says:

    Boy does this ever make for an inspiration for a book lol πŸ˜‰

  3. Pingback: A different treasure today | silverbells steps out

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

