The never-ending dig

This morning, I took part in an experiment to help a PhD student with her research. I don’t of course know what she is looking for, except that it is something to do with physical activity. Thus, I am now kitted out with a special watch (ie something on my wrist) which will measure my activity levels over the next couple of weeks.

I’m not sure if I will be party directly to the results but I certainly will have given the impression so far that I do occasionally leave the couch! For when I woke up, I noticed the broad beans I had sown a week gone Sunday were definitely starting to sprout, which means the ground at the allotment needs to be prepared with some speed.

Broad beans sprouting - getting ready for the allotment Jan 2014

Broad beans sprouting – getting ready for the allotment Jan 2014

Actually, while I was out yesterday, the sprouting process had already begun. Indeed, between getting home in the late afternoon and going to bed, the beans also made notable progress.

However, it was very frosty this morning and part of me thought coming home after the experiment would be the more appealing option than going for a digging session. Still, since I was in the right vicinity for the allotment after doing lots of activities of a mentally challenging nature, I decided I should at least take a peek.

Famous last words! In about an hour I felt as though I had cleared very little ground – maybe one and a half feet by six feet – but there was another big bag to take home. This time the culprit was almost entirely couch grass roots, and not polystyrene 😉

I wonder how many weeks it is going to take to complete the plot clearance? I dare say it doesn’t matter, though, as long as I have enough suitable soil to sow and plant in. Oh, and enough of the weeds removed so as not to be an annoyance to the neighbours….

 © Helen Butt, January 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to The never-ending dig

  1. andy1076 says:

    no more bags of mysteries?? awe! 😛

  2. A watch recording my movements would definitely make ME move!

    • Well, I don’t know if I am moving more or if it just feels as though I am. However, as I have to wear the watch at night as well, I wonder if it isn’t something to do with sleep and personality/lifestyle?!

      • Huh! So you suspect it might be more than just a study about exercise. You know, it could be anything. You could be in the placebo group. That’s not the correct term but I can’t think of the correct one. There are usually 3 groups. The ones doing the actual thing, the ones doing the actual thing with a variation, and the ones doing something that has nothing to do with the study! I don’t know if I know what I’m talking about, I’m tired! lol. I would try not to think about it much if I were you. You might be just spinning your wheels. For all you know, she might be conducting a study for sleepwalking and how much the average sleepwalker walks in his/her sleep!

  3. Pingback: Newsflash: Exactly what is exercise? | silverbells steps out

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

