Cold, wet and dirty

The washing was certainly very much the worse for wear when I got home this afternoon. The morning had shown promise of sunshine and mild temperatures, so before setting off for the community workday at the allotment, I decided to hang it out. Coming home to my whites strewn about the garden pretty much mirrored the wet and muddy clothes I was actually wearing as well. But it was all worth it!

In fact, I have had two good days at the allotment, but working backwards: today we were all clearing the rubbish which had accumulated in the communal area. When I say ‘rubbish’ and ‘accumulated’, I mean stuff which might once have been legitimate and useful, such as fencing and bricks, but now it lay in the way of the composting toilet which is due to go in at the end of next week. Yippee.. Particularly when it is summer and we might want to enjoy the long evenings in that part of the world, not having our fun curtailed by bodily needs can only be a good thing.

Anyway, happy though I will be when these days arrive, back to the moment. Or rather the rubbish. Some of which turned out to be what I needed, especially after learning yesterday that carpet is absolutely not allowed. Thank goodness I hadn’t managed to get the carpet which still resides where my back lawn used to be in the car and up to Wonder World then!

As I was doing my weed-removal workout on Friday, one of the committee members came over and started chatting. This led to a discussion about clearing land of overgrowth and the consequent use of carpets. Oh no, he said, the council doesn’t allow such things, but at least he seemed to feel they might be slightly wrong on this point….

Notwithstanding, I now had to rethink my strategies. Until one of the allotmenteers this afternoon asked if I would like some plastic sheeting and bricks from the aforementioned pile of rubbish.

Yes, please! It is not much – but every little helps 🙂

image

© Helen Butt, January 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Cold, wet and dirty

  1. We decided to ban carpets on our allotments too – they create so much mess when left down for too long, I remember having to clear a huge one on my plot that had been down for a couple of years, and every now and then I spy a tiny fragment of pink!!! The sheeting has worked well for me over the years….. x

  2. Hi, we lay thick wads of newspaper down, wet it thoroughly, and then place grass clippings over. Not only does this smother weeds but also leaves a beautiful mulch to feed the soil. E

    • Thanks very much for this tip. I will definitely think about doing this once I’ve cleared the ground of the overgrowth and am growing fruit and vegetables 🙂 At the moment, the soil is riddled with couch grass, dandelions and other things that need digging out as smothering won’t kill the roots 😦 Still, I like the challenge!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

