Newsflash: Exactly what is exercise?

You may recall a couple of weeks ago that I started helping a PhD student with her research. I was given an actiwatch to measure my activity and every evening I had a diary to fill in about my food and exercise for the day, plus intentions for the next day.

The actiwatch measured activity as follows:
– bed
– sedentary
– light
– moderate
– vigorous.

Overall, I expected, going on the above, to be mostly in the sedentary range with the odd bit of vigorous for the digging I’ve been doing on the allotment. However, my activity profile said something completely different.

Sadly, the ‘vigorous’ digging turns out to be moderate activity. Never mind, at least it is not sedentary behaviour. And this is somewhat mitigated by the fact that driving my car was also classed as moderate activity. Better not tell that to the global warming sceptics 😉

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Health, Social and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Newsflash: Exactly what is exercise?

  1. interesting results so far then while helping the student out keep the good work up have a blessed week and weekend as it will soon be here

    • I’ve finished my involvement now but it was certainly interesting to learn about activity levels – what constitutes moderate or vigorous, for example.

      Have a good weekend, too, Linda!

  2. interesting!! and depressing at the same time. LOL.

  3. Driving a car is moderate activity? Now I’m really confused!

    • I think they were measuring something different from say aerobic activity… I don’t think the actiwatch could tell pulse rate or body heat, just movements (I had to wear it on my non-dominant hand so it was less likely to lead to false data). At least you could say car driving isn’t totally inactive 😉

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

