Sunshine brings the people out

When all’s said and done winter can be a miserable affair. Yes, there can be beautiful days – but with it getting too dark by 3:30 pm to work on the allotment, any rain and biting wind is sure to dampen the spirits of most souls.

Today was different. For a start, when we arrived the allotment was already a hive of activity. And after a reasonable amount of digging my daughter dragged me off to look at some of the things she had observed. She too is very excited about what we might do with our patch of ground, especially the idea of raised beds.

The result of this little tour was meeting more tenants and having some interesting conversations. I now know of places to obtain all manner of useful objects, such as free wood and other building materials. The Treasurer also gave me a British Allotment Association seed catalogue, which means seeds at much lower prices than you normally find in the shops.

Now I’ve met all my neighbours. My daughter has built a house for hedgehogs from the branches on the half plot behind ours, we know we are definitely not alone with our mountain of couch grass and the friends who introduced us to this allotment were there at the same time as us, so it was good to catch up.

Last but not least, there was a branch of holly in the hole left after the removal of the stump, which has now found a place to hopefully grow anew. I planted it to please my daughter before I learned that we are not supposed to grow non-fruit-bearing trees. But it can always come home with us if there is any objection to it.

image

Oh, and I sowed some radish and spinach. Will they be more successful here than at home?

© Helen Butt, February 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Sunshine brings the people out

  1. Such a difference a fine day makes. We here in Ireland had that yesterday

  2. andy1076 says:

    Sunshine.. Home building for hedgehogs and fun for everyone, perfect!

  3. I’m looking forward to some warmth and sunshine soon too. Enjoy!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

