Mountains of paper

What is your attitude towards receipts – that piece of paper you get after making a payment in a shop?

Up until about a year I paid for almost everything on a card. I therefore accumulated large amounts of receipts. With a cash payment, you may feel you need one to prove you have paid for the product, but if you have used a card you also need it to check against the bank/credit card statement,  which in turn means hanging onto these bits of paper for a week, a month. Or if you are not systematic about it, like me, you might have bags of them going back years.

Having determined to do something about this clutter, as I find these receipts they are going in the compost bin, so I do not feel they are a complete waste. However, now that my day-to-day purchases are usually made in cash, I am shocked by how many pieces of paper my payment habits used to generate.

For one thing, not only did I need to keep all receipts for longer – not just the ones for products with guarantees and such like – but I was often given two receipts when making a purchase: a shop receipt AND a card receipt. In contrast, these days, I often don’t take a receipt at all (e.g. if I am in a local shop where I am known). Not only does this reduce the number of trees needed (I hope) but I end up with less of this:

image

Bliss!

© Helen Butt, February 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Mountains of paper

  1. Lovely post Helen it’s were all my junky mail goes is in the compost bins makes another layer between the other stuff we put in but I do agree with you whole Hartley

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

