The kitchen windowsill

While my daughter started work on the sign for Wonder World, I decided to sort out my kitchen windowsill. The sign needs to be finished pronto, as the allotment committee are inspecting the plots next Saturday; and my windowsill was not being used as well as I would have liked.

Before Christmas, I bought some cut-and-come again lettuce that was being sold off at a supermarket. This has not been particularly well looked after – it being mostly hidden behind the window blind and therefore not watered as it might have liked. However, it did give me the idea of trying the same with my own lettuce seeds.

Also at around Christmas time, I bought some twiglets – yes, unhealthy food, but the box did have a reuse suggestion on it: as a plant pot. So, the lettuce seeds have gone in there and all being well I should have more leaves to supplement those which are still, remarkably, soldiering on.

image

I’ve also got some cress on the go now. The last lot of that died a thirsty death but with the lighter mornings and evenings, the new batch might just get the water it needs to grow and be eaten.

Finally, on another blog this morning I learned that I could possibly grow my own ginger. And it just so happened that I had some ginger root at home, too much to eat before it goes off, so that is now soaking to remove any growth inhibitors and will be duly potted up tomorrow 🙂

How are you with indoor plants? Do they get a regular watering or do they tend to get forgotten?

© Helen Butt, February 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The kitchen windowsill

  1. I am not good at looking after indoor plants, I tend to kill them off ..lol

  2. Lovely post Helen I have some cress growing as well and found out some seeds you can start of in the fridge

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

