It’s a wonderful world

At last we have a sign for our magnificent allotment plot!

image

You might not believe it from this photo but it has been a beautiful day…. Within a few minutes of starting to dig, I was in short sleeves and was wondering about suntan lotion. To make the day even better, a few of my neighbours came to work on their plots too, so there were plenty of opportunities to put my spade down and chat.

This morning I had learned that the allotment was on top of another coal mine and this came up in conversation again when I got there. Apparently, the coal at this point in Leeds is more or less at the surface, whereas where I live it is about 400 metres underground. Also, whereas the mine shafts under my house have been properly sealed, the ones under the allotment might very well have simply been filled with junk.

Not to worry – the upside of this is that the council is unlikely to see this as an attractive site to sell off for housing, which could potentially happen in other places if councils are pressed for cash.

Talking of money, I saved myself a bit today by emptying the compost bin I use for finishing off and took that up to Wonder World to feed the rhubarb. It doesn’t go far but, whatever might be said about manure, a gentleman with a mountain of it further up the field is hoping to sell it for peanuts, so I won’t have to walk far, should the desire for some grip me. Mmmm…..

© Helen Butt, February 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to It’s a wonderful world

  1. Great name for your plot, and glad your house is safe now!

    • Thank you Cath! The mine where I live wasn’t closed down until ’83 so proper regulations were in place when my house was built in ’98. The mine under the allotment was closed in the 50s before nationalisation of the coal mines and other legislation.

  2. lovely post Helen and thank you for sharing with us

  3. You can’t beat manure for improving soil can you.

    • To tell the truth, Claire, I have been quite stingy with soil improver/fertiliser at home and so have not noticed any difference yet. I think my home soil needs a lot of TLC but the neighbours would probably be mortified if I emptied a truck of manure on the back garden.

      So far, the soil on the allotment looks in better shape. It’s largely been fallow for a number of years and from what I can tell as a pretty novice gardener is in good condition. Guess it is a good idea to keep it that way rather than try to reverse a downward trend later…

  4. Karen says:

    I’m glad your weather has turned nice and that you could get out to work in your allotment.

  5. bridget says:

    Great that you’ve got an early start on your allotment.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

