Indoor gardening

Actually, my indoor gardening hasn’t been entirely conducted indoors. I mean, the compost is on the patio, so my work has still allowed me to breathe some fresh air 🙂

Back from a weekend away, and seeing that my sowings last weekend are doing so well, there was an immediate incentive to get on with more salad ingredients to adorn my windowsills.

Isn’t cress great? In just one week I am eating it!

image

Not quite so the lettuce in the Twiglets tub, but it has made a strong start, so I could well be having some fresh leaves soon.

image

The ginger I am experimenting with doesn’t seem quite so forthcoming – no visible sprouting yet. But if all else fails I have acquired some more root, so I might well give that a whirl (too).

In the meantime, I have also sown some basil this evening. On the packet, it suggests that I could be growing it outside, but as there is still space on my windowsill, it may as well have the warmth from the central heating while I decide what else I am going to sow…

Can’t wait to get up to the allotment tomorrow to get on with things there 🙂

© Helen Butt, March 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Indoor gardening

  1. andy1076 says:

    You’re so growing gardens indoors, One may as well call you mother nature among us

  2. Lovely post Helen I checked my airing cupboard this morning and both my pear seeds have a leaf on plus my other apple seed so will do an update later

  3. Indoor gardening is satisfying isn’t it! I’ve had hit and miss experiences with ginger, I wonder if it needs lots of light to sprout…….?

    • Interesting that you’ve tried ginger, too, Claire. I can’t remember what light requirements it has but I will perservere 🙂

      It certainly is satisfying to grow indoors and have food at my fingertips, no matter what the season!

  4. Pingback: Organic ginger | silverbells steps out

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

