Twelve and a half degrees

After the extended winter last year, I’m not sure if the temperature is normal or not for the time of year. However, it made for a glorious afternoon at the allotment.

I was pleased to see that someone has formally marked out the boundary between my half plot and the one behind. And I am glad that I stopped my digging where I did last week – it was spot on, so I didn’t exert myself for nothing πŸ™‚

image

I was also pleased to see my rhubarb is coming on. How much longer before I’m taking it home for dessert?

image

It would be nice if I could see some action with the seeds I’ve sown myself, but if it rains tomorrow as predicted and the warmth continues I dare say it could be soon.

In any case, I brought home another bag of weeds and planted some more onions as well as chives. The latter are new for me and I am eager to see how they fare. In the meantime, I will just keep digging πŸ˜‰

Β© Helen Butt, March 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

30 Responses to Twelve and a half degrees

  1. Aren’t those sort of days, at this time of year, like a gift?!!
    Here’s to many more as the summer approaches.
    Emma

  2. andy1076 says:

    ohhhh rhubarb! I’m so addicted to that :O

  3. Yes…..a beautiful day in the garden πŸ™‚

  4. Sounds like you are having some nice spring weather! I love chives – they grow easily here and are the first things to come up in the spring (along with the rhubarb).

  5. lizard100 says:

    Always better not to overdo the digging. Chives can be a permanent plant which is great.

    • Great to know that chives can be permanent… Have put them in the right place for that πŸ™‚

      Unfortunately, I have to dig to clear the ground of all the perennial weeds. The alternative would be systemic weedkiller 😦

      • lizard100 says:

        We have the same. Couch grass. Dreadful choking nightmare!

        • Tell me about it!!!

          I must have taken away 250 litres of couch grass roots since I acquired the allotment last November. And even going through a patch a second time (today) produced a whole load that I had missed the first time. I will beat it, however.

          Hope you do, too!

          • lizard100 says:

            Don’t want to put you off but it’s been about eight years… Still fighting. We use surface cover a lot. It does help to weaken it. But you have to keep at it all the time.

          • Well, it is good to know what I might be in for!

            My neighbours on the next plot said it took them about two years but then I guess it does depend on how bad it was in the first place…

          • lizard100 says:

            We had almost a total re growth last year. It was weather, ill timed illness and a holiday. That’s when we started covering whenever anything was bare.

          • Oh dear! Yes, you can’t stop the weeds’ seeds from arriving….

  6. Awesome post Helen and it been lovely here as well managed to weed round one fruit tree and put some wood chip around after putting news paper down to stop the weeds coming back round it

  7. All that digging will pay off this summer

  8. Wow it looks like you have made a great start. Don’t forget to fertilize your Rhubarb! They will thank you later by giving you a great harvest later. You might want start thinking about starting a compost with all those weeds. It will give you a great mulch fertilizer for years to come. It is easier doing that at your alotment sit than carrying them off.

    • Can I compost perennial weeds? Won’t that perpetuate the problem?

      • I have written this three times now and the window shut down on me and didn’t post it. Here I go again
        Of course you can use weeds! They are broken down in the compost process into a mulch or nutrients for your garden.
        You can use weeds, grass clipping, and leaves in a compost in layers. Follow with low layers of manure, top soil and wood ash. You can even use Kitchen scraps ( Coffee sump, Tea leaves, crushed egg shell…). Continue adding layers but don’t use too much of one thing in one material in one layer.
        chop or grindlarge materials such as big stems into smaller peices.Keep the compost moist but not soggy wet. Turn over pile every three to four weeks to discourage ordor and flies. This also helps the compose decompose evenly. I hope that answers your questions.
        Honey

        • But all the advice I’ve ever read says not to put the roots of dandelion or other perennial weeds in the compost as the tempetatures don’t get high enough to render them harmless… For that reason, I would prefer not to let my council use them than risk all my hard work being undone πŸ™‚

          • I have a plastic composting bin that has ventalation slit in it. It is insulated. If you put hay and or cardboard on a uninsulated compost container to keep the proper temperture. I have heard it called Hot composting. The hot temperature that composting this way creates heat levels that will kill seeds. That is what I have followed.
            I honestly thought that meant Dandelions as well. You have taught me something new. I went up on line to read up on it, after reading your post, worried that I had done some thing wrong in my own composting.
            I have read conflicting information. I have also read that do not put dandelions that have gone to seed, because you can spread the seeds. It is up to you to decide what you feel comfortable trying. I agree that I would hate for you to risk all you hard work being undone. Happy composting!

          • Thanks for your experiences and insights, Honey. Sounds like you have a great composting system.

            Our local council collects garden waste which I understand is then composted. So I think that they can cope with dandelions and such like because the sheer volume of matter creates the right temperature.

            I am going to try and turn my heap at home more often so as to accelerate the rate of decomposition but I just don’t have enough non-weed waste to make it ‘safe’ enough to put things like dandelions in.

            Weeds are such a pain, but slowly I am sorting the allotment out…

            Happy composting, too!

          • You are welcome. I can’t wait to see the pictures of your progress with your allotment. Happy gardening!

          • Thank you – same to you!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

