Organic ginger

image

My phone camera doesn’t do close-ups very well so the picture above isn’t as clear as I would like, but you might just be able to make out a green shoot?

This piece of ginger is the one I acquired at the weekend and is organic. Notwithstanding, I decided to soak it ‘in case’ there was any growth inhibitor which might prevent it from sprouting. (I think that this is what must have happened with the ginger that I have been trying to sprout for the last week or so.)

Well, if ever there was any inhibitor it certainly didn’t take much soaking to get rid of it, as I only put the root in a bowl of water yesterday morning!

Let’s hope it likes being in soil as much 🙂

© Helen Butt, March 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Health, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Organic ginger

  1. Lovely Helen never tried Ginger before

  2. sueturner31 says:

    I grow ginger from a root every year…some years like this last one I have managed to keep it in the greenhouse…..leafless but lovely juicy roots under the compost…perfect for ginger cake etc…

  3. I have never tried growing ginger before. Is it really that easy to do? How does it work? How long does it take?

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

