Rubble

It’s amazing how nice people can be….. After lunch we went to have a look at the rubble advertised on freecycle the other day. There was actually a mountain of stuff to choose from and the woman who was giving it away even helped us carry what I wanted to the car.

image

On this occasion I got a number of sheets of chipboard and as many bricks as would fit in the back of the car. What seems a lot when you are lifting and carrying, though, turns out to be much less when you’re using it, doesn’t it?

So, the chipboard has all gone on beds for Jerusalem artichoke. I’m not exactly pleased with the look but I don’t think the chipboard is going to last an eternity. In other words, if it stops the artichokes from taking over the allotment for one season, it will have been worth the effort of putting it in.

image

Had I had time, I would have created a proper raised bed for the artichokes. As it is, they have already started to sprout and I have only planted five of the twenty tubers I bought. Looks like I am going to have to give some away before I have real plants growing out the bag they came in!

© Helen Butt, March 2014.

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Rubble

  1. Lovely post Helen it looking good I am sure the artichokes will be fine

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

