An unusual birthday

I wouldn’t normally broadcast my birthday but as I have just got home from an allotment meeting, it seemed fitting to say this change of routine and seeing my fellow plotters in a different setting was quite uplifting and bodes well for the year to come.

It also rained, which brought joy to my heart. I’ve had to do watering already this year – that must be unusual in this part of the world? Then again, before I became a gardener four years ago, I took much less notice of the environment around me. And now I document this world via my blog, too. So, here’s to vistas new in 2014 and beyond šŸ™‚

Ā© Helen Butt, March 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to An unusual birthday

  1. belated happy birthday and lovely post Helen

  2. streepie says:

    Happy Birthday, and to a year full of happy gardening (and good harvests!)

  3. Happy Birthday! I woke up this morning to find it snowing outside. Planting season for us is a ways off yet. The ground is not frozen, but we don’t want to risk waisting all our effort and time. I have not even planted seedlings yet. We are getting our table and grow lights set up. Our local seed store where we do a lot of our shopping hasn’t even got their seeds in yet for the season. I have only found one shop in town selling sowing soil in large bags and seeds. I am surprised the weather is warm enough that you have already started your growing season. I read your page and long for our season to begin. Really we need this time to get other project finished first.
    Happy gardening.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

