Inbetween the ‘April’ showers

Spring seems to have stalled for the time being. I managed to get my washing out and dried before the first of the showers and that was only because of the bracing wind!

However, I had jobs to do, not least picking up bricks from a house which is having major renovations done to it. I’ve no idea how many bricks I will need in total but at least I am developing ideas of what to do with them.

image

Yes, of course, take them up to the allotment in the first instance 😉 Holding down the plastic sheeting to kill the grass underneath is not a bad option but in the long run I plan to build a herb garden. A pity that it will be a long way from my back door but the garden couldn’t currently accommodate such a structure.

Before I can build anything though, more ground will have to be sorted out. And against my inclination, I did get down to an hour of that.

My guess is that the patch I worked on – from the stick to the bag in the photo below – has never been cleared, considering the amount of roots I got out. It was certainly slow going. So no artichokes got planted today.

image

Oh well, there will be another day!

© Helen Butt, March 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Good for the environment and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Inbetween the ‘April’ showers

  1. lovely post thank you for sharing

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

