Just five more minutes in paradise

My feet were cold in my wellies, my fingers were cold in my gloves, but…..

My life seems to be a series of deadlines. School runs, lessons to get to, and today appointments with the dentist and the hairdresser added to the mix.

Whilst I was digging at the allotment in between all this the song by Passenger ‘Let her go’ came to mind. I might bemoan the constant rush that defines my days now – but once upon a time I longed to be busier. I may no longer be able to spend as long doing the things I want – at the same time, I am grateful to have little current experience of being at a loose end.

All the same, in spite of the cold and the damp and the general gloom, I was absorbed in my new project at Wonder World: clearing the ground in the middle section of the plot. Having seen what birds can do to unsuspecting cabbages

image

I am planning to grow my next lot under cover.

I have a three metre net tunnel, destined for the central aisle of the allotment. But I want to grow vegetables under it, not weeds. So, there I was, digging up a spadeful of ground, pulling out the roots, digging up a spadeful of roots, pulling out the roots, checking the time and taking my spade up again. Racing against the clock – how many more spadefuls before I really had to get in the car?

I just made it to the hairdresser’s on time as well 😉

© Helen Butt, March 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Just five more minutes in paradise

  1. Lovely update and have a lovely weekend

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

