Walking Across England

This is the part of the world I come from. You can’t really get better 🙂

The Anxious Gardener

I’ve recently returned from a fifteen day walk across Northern England.

img002

I started at Ulverston, Cumbria and finished at Berwick-Upon-Tweed, Northumberland.  My route comprised the Cumbria Way, the central (and best) bit of the Hadrian’s Wall Path and the St Oswald’s Way.

Here’s a photo-blog of what I saw.

As you may know, one of my biggest worries on any long distance footpath (apart from a closed-sign in a pub window) is persistent rain; day after day of ceaseless, pitiless rain.

DSM_0269

And one year that will most certainly happen … but not this time.

DSM_0289

March 2014 was (finally) a fine example of why I go walking in early spring and, compared to the rigours of last year, this was a comparative walk in the park.  Albeit a 220 mile walk in the park.

DSM_0316

There were the daffodils and spring flowers I always hope for

DSM_1234

the regular ‘a-little-bit-of-bread-and-no-cheese

View original post 1,146 more words

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

