The water fountain

How about one of these on the London Underground?

image

Whilst travelling on the Tokyo Metro yesterday, we discovered a water fountain. It’s a long time since I’ve seen one of these… I wouldn’t like to say there are none anywhere else but they are not objects I’m exactly falling over either. Such a shame as they are a very simple way of reducing waste and our carbon footprint as well as helping people stay well. Some countries may need to improve their water quality (ie remove pathogens from it) but if tap water is already potable, what’s stopping us?

© Helen Butt, April 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Good for the environment, Health and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

