Yokohama

It is confirmed: I am not a city person. I grew up in a small town by the sea and while I couldn’t wait to get away from the town itself, I have always missed the sea. Now, I have been living in a village for four years, with the benefits of a vibrant city close-by but green vegetation instead of grey concrete around me. And in Shinjuku I was starting to suffer….

Fortunately, a friend devised a plan of action to deal with this situation and yesterday my daughter and I took a train out to Yokohama. This is another city but on the coast – so I got to see the sea AND indeed had my first glimpse of the Pacific Ocean.

image

We also found China Town and I got to speak an interesting mishmash of Mandarin and Japanese as well as eating things I haven’t eaten for a while.

image

Another find was a ferris wheel which gave us a wonderful view over the city. It also cost considerably less than London Eye.

image

En route to the ferris wheel, we came across what I think is a renovated warehouse. We have similar in Leeds, where a disused building is converted into leisure space. And in this case, there was an added attraction in the form of a garden exhibition which I had seen advertised on the metro.

image

Then a final walk along the promenade before heading home.

image

© Helen Butt, April 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yokohama

  1. The photos are nice. It looks foggy or smogg there.I hope you and your daughter have a great time there.
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

