Jerusalem artichokes make their appearance

Spring is such an exciting time – and I’ve never felt it so much as this year. Jerusalem artichokes being a new venture for me, I was curious to find out both how long they would take to sprout and what the plants would look like when they arrived. And here they are.

image

I can’t believe how quickly the shoots have grown. It has only been a matter of a month since I planted them but this is about 7 inches of growth altogether considering the depth the tubers were planted at.

The next thing I want to see is the flowers – how like sunflowers are they going to be?

© Helen Butt, April 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Jerusalem artichokes make their appearance

  1. So that is what a baby artichoke looks like. I am surprised that it only took a month to sprout leaves. If you had asked me to guess what vegetable this was, I would have been stumped.
    Honey

  2. lovely post Helen hoping to see some at the garden centre at the weekend

  3. Karen says:

    It will be an interesting crop to grow…it looks like it is doing very well.

  4. After reading some of the comments, I’m wondering if readers realize that there is a difference between globe artichokes and jerusalem artichokes. I like both but I haven’t seen them in the grocery store for a long time. They must not ship well. The jerusalem needs to be peeled, if I remember correctly. They look similar to potatoes but are much smaller. The globe artichokes are green and I eat them all the time!

    • I can imagine Jerusalem artichokes don’t travel well, going on how quickly my tubers shrivelled after I had received them through the post. They don’t actually need to be peeled, which makes things a lot easier. I never worked out how to eat the other sort of artichokes, but I’ve seen other people at the plot growing them. These certainly look a magnificent plant!

      • It’s been a long time since I’ve had Jerusalem artichokes so I don’t really remember if I peeled them or not. I think I did though. I know I liked them a lot! The grocery price on globe artichokes has become ridiculous – $1.25 for one artichoke! I bought and ate 8 of them last week when they had a sale: $1.00 for one artichoke. They are delicious stuffed with garlic and breadcrumbs and drizzled with olive oil. Many people serve them with a lemon dipping sauce. (you dip the leaves in the sauce.) The only part of the artichoke that I don’t eat, and the part that is inedible is the “choke” (the hairy part in the middle). I eat the stem, the leaves, and the best part, the heart. Still, I would like the option of eating Jerusalem artichokes again. If they grow from tubers, I wouldn’t worry too much. If anything, tuber plants are hard to get rid of! So, I think you will be OK!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

