Nettle stings and other things

image

When I arrived at Wonder World today, it was awash with dandelion flowers. They are beautiful but wreck such havoc…. So while I was catching up with my neighbour I pulled the heads off the dandelions to prevent as much future damage as possible.

And in the process my fingers made contact with some nettle leaves. Gloveless fingers that hadn’t been stung for a long long time. Several hours later they are in fact still stinging – but no pain, no gain, so to speak!

I also decided to redo part of the vegetable patch I had already sown with parsnip and spinach. I can’t see any sign of these vegetables emerging. And even if there were an seedlings, they would have had a hard time battling with the weeds. So, now I have a fresh bed which will hopefully fare much better.

The best news, though, is that I picked what I feel is my first genuine crop: radishes. I say ‘genuine’ as all the other produce so far from the allotment has been someone else’s doing.

image

On that note, I could have yet more potatoes. They seem to be like weeds – maybe taking lessons from their neighbours? Whatever, they were also in the vegetable patch I redid, so I’m doubly pleased I put the effort in there.

Last but not least for this post, I do have another ‘genuine’ crop emerging. Not sure what it is as the writing has washed off the marker (recycled ice lolly stick). Is it Chinese cabbage perhaps? Exciting to find out 🙂

© Helen Butt, April 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Nettle stings and other things

  1. Lovely post Helen I also got stung by stingers while weeding the soft fruit area

  2. andy1076 says:

    ugh I’ve been stung by those nettles before, nasty how they sting. Almost as bad as when I first handled cactus pear empty handed! :O

  3. I experienced nettles for the first time last year when they tried to take over the garden. Nasty things. Somehow, we’d managed to avoid them up until then. Im hoping our extra harsh winter eradicated them this year.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

