Slow germinating Parsnips?

Going to try out this advice tomorrow.

Read this post if your having trouble with parsnips!

You Grow Girl

I love growing parsnip but the fact it takes weeks to germinate is so frustrating.  You are left wondering whether it is still waiting to pop or has it died off, is there a problem, or worse (if you forget to mark it up) you forget where it was sown!  This leads to random plants coming up in a few weeks time along with something else you have planted, not an ideal situation.

However I have learn’t a solution from my Grandad that solves all of these problems and I was amazed to see Monty Don use the same technique in Gardeners World this week! Thought for those that don’t have it broadcast or missed it I would share it.   He would create a drill for his parsnips, sow about 2/3 seeds every 4 inches and in the same row sow his radish seeds.  Parsnips take at least 5…

View original post 129 more words

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slow germinating Parsnips?

  1. That is brill I did watch Gardner’s World last Friday but the phone ran so sound was muted so did not hear his advice or what he was sowing

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

