May greetings

Got a lovely surprise this morning when I opened the livingroom curtains: there was the first tomato seedling coming through 🙂

image

In fact, after taking this photograph, I noticed there was a second seedling. That seems quick, considering I only sowed them a few days ago!

Anyway, I’m hoping that bodes well for this year’s crop. Last autumn my plants were hit by botrytis. One day, I was happily picking the ripened fruit off the vine, the next they were infected with grey fungus. I still managed a decent crop for salad and chutney, but it was sad to have to dispose of more than half of them.

I was also sad, because at that time I did not have the allotment. Having used up any potential ground in my garden, it seemed unlikely that there would be any tomatoes this time round. Fortunately, I can start afresh at Wonder World. Also, with more space, the plants should not be so crowded, thus reducing the risk of another botrytis attack……

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to May greetings

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    awesome lets hope your not this season it dose not come back

  2. wearethefrugalfamily says:

    Egg boxes are a great idea aren’t they, mine get reused for chicken eggs but I do use yogurt pots!

  3. One of the ways I plant tomatoes, now this is just ONE of the ways, is that I let some of the fruits drop into the soil and I don’t pick them up! They self-seed for the next season and I just have to transplant them! Lazy, I know but I found this out just by being too tired to be fussy and clean up everything that laid on the soil at the end of the season! Try it, you’ll like it! lol!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

