Yes! Headway at last…..

We got a free swim at work’s pool today, which set us up nicely for a trip to the allotment afterwards. So, I got two workouts in one day 🙂

I knew I would need more than an hour at Wonder World but my long-suffering daughter had far more than that before she could get back to the tv 😉

No sowing today… It was more ground clearance, as I would like to get the tunnel up before it is too late.

image

The strip I dug out – from where the soil is still damp to almost the end of the plot – might not look much but it was at least two hours’ of work. Some of it was having its second going over, while the rest might need another go. But I feel that perhaps there is light at the end of the tunnel, so to speak.

Basically, if I can get this patch of ground clear, stuff planted and the tunnel up, I will then be able to work on the remainder of the plot at a more leisurely pace.

My neighbours at Plot 14 suggested that I also tackle the weeds where I planted the asparagus in the winter before that makes an appearance. So, I did just that – and I’m keeping my fingers crossed I haven’t damaged the asparagus underneath. Even if I have, though, this patch would have been no good for them in its previous state.

All in all, I spent about 4 hours digging and clearing today and it was well worth it in terms of satisfaction alone 🙂

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Yes! Headway at last…..

  1. Lovely update I planted 40 gladioli today moved a rose tree and planted 3 swede out will do vid in morning

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

