Pretty gladioli bulbs

After my digging extravaganza yesterday, I had planned on taking it easy today. So, I was merrily reading one of my latest borrowings from the library at Harlow Carr when I remembered the gladioli bulbs in my downstairs cupboard.

To be honest with you, I think the bulbs are almost too pretty to plant. Look at the lovely satiny purple colour they are:

image

Gladioli bulbs

Nevertheless, the flowers they produce will look beautiful in the summer. And when I dig the bulbs up to avoid them being damaged by frost, I will get the joy of seeing them again, taking it they stay the same in appearance.

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Pretty gladioli bulbs

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    lovely post Helen and thanks for sharing have a blessed week

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

