Easy tunnel up

image

Just had an amazing afternoon at the allotment! Thanks to a friend, my daughter was picked up from school and has no doubt been having a wonderful time playing with her friend while I have had some much valued me time. Of course, I could have stayed there longer, given half a chance, but best to save some energy for tomorrow, eh?

Anyway, after clearing more ground to make sure the Easy Tunnel I bought a couple of months ago had enough space, I finally put it up. Yippee! Oh, but it is smaller than I had anticipated… Still, it will be useful for starting off my brassicas (cabbage and cauliflower) while they are most vulnerable to birds and butterflies, so I’m not going to cry about the shortness in stature.

As a by-the-by, I also determined what the unnamed crop I recently noticed coming up might be: coriander. Great – would like to plant some more and knowing that it works on Wonder World, I will try some more tomorrow.

Last but not least, I had had a plan to put some jacket potatoes in the slow cooker before I set out today. Unfortunately, they had started to sprout, so now they have been planted next to the rhubarb. It can’t do any harm πŸ™‚

Β© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Easy tunnel up

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    Lovely post Helen your jacket spud will grow as my shop brought ones are nearly ready to harvest with my rocket spuds

  2. I like the easy tunnel. I have never seen one with that green material on it before. The garden looks like your hard work will pay off. It is coming along.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

