Up with the garden path 2014 Part One

Last year, I started work on removing the garden path that ran down the then vegetable patch at the back on the right hand side. My orginal idea had been to have a new path meandering across the garden with the gate as it is still on the right hand side.

Moving on 12 months and my ideas have moved on too. I’ve never liked the hawthorn bush on the back fence and was keeping it purely for ecological reasons (native species, seeds good for the birds). At the same time, it is hard work to maintain and reduces the amount of space I have to garden in.

image

I also realised that if I kept the gate it too would reduce the amount of available space for plants, make it harder for me to have a shed and conceal the unsightly bins.

So, I am now slowly chopping down the hawthorn bush. Then I plan to remove part of the fence (in the middle) for that I can exit – with or without bins) without having to open anything.

Lets’s see how it goes. How long will this take? Will get new ideas in the interim? At least I’ve started with the bush 🙂

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Up with the garden path 2014 Part One

  1. lizard100 says:

    Sounds like a plan.

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

