Impromptu strawberries

I am used to potato plants popping up all over the garden, after I’ve had the compost bin over a particular spot. I’ve also acquired unexpected potatoes from putting kitchen waste in trenches. However, I didn’t expect strawberries to do the same!

Last autumn, I decided the strawberry plants had had their day and needed to be replaced by something which was altogether more productive (Jerusalem artichokes and broad beans). The compost bin was full and so I put the plants in a trench, fully expecting them to rot down over the winter.

Well, it seems that they aren’t ready to do that….

image

I’ve been looking at these leaves for a few days now, wondering what they might be. Then last night it dawned on me: they are strawberries, growing where I have sown radishes and lettuce. Never mind, as with so many things in my garden, let’s see what the unexpected brings!

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Impromptu strawberries

  1. andy1076 says:

    I ❤ strawberries! what a pleasant surprise to set them 🙂

  2. I have heard so many people comment about pulling their strawberry plants because they are too old. My neighbor just said the same thing to me this weekend. They took up their strawberry plants and removed the raised bed. He said that his wife really didn’t have a green thumb. I have always cut the daughter plants and placed them around the mother plant. Eventually the mother plant dies and turns to compost but the daughter plants keep producing. I guess most people just cut the daughter plants and throw them away.they just buy new plants to replace the old ones. I am like you I won’t turn down free plants. Don’t get me wrong, I give excess daughter plants to friends and neighbors.You are lucky your strawberries hung in there. I think you have quite the green thumb and good instincts because you planted them in the trench and look how good they are doing.
    Happy Gardening
    Honey

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

