Second evening at the allotment

Woke up this morning to the news that there is to be an inspection at the allotment next week… And there have been complaints about weeds. So, after work today I rushed up to there with my grass cutters and lots of bags to sort the meadow out!

I wouldn’t say I quite managed that but with the help of my daughter we did clear a lot of the overgrowth. I think having one of neighbours madly hacking away at the same kept my daughter engaged – whatever, it was a good evening 🙂

And the prize is that I noticed a row of lettuce coming through. I’m so glad I removed the weeds from that spot and started again. Should any stray parsnip seeds decide to germinate after all, that will be the icing on the cake, but I am happy.

image

Lettuce coming through

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Second evening at the allotment

  1. OMG… I would so dislike to have to pay for an allotment and be told what i have to do. I own my own garden, but still know what has to be done.

    • Thanks for your ‘support’ Cath! I realise there have to be rules when you have a group of people… And there are those who will take advantage. Besides, with plots being in high demand, it would be unfair to let someone grow weeds when another person could be growing vegetables.

      At the same time, for newbies like myself and my neighbour it is unsettling. We don’t know just how much is too much (in terms of weeds) or whether generally we are considered to be productive enough.

      The upside of having an allotment is that there is companionship. You can learn from others (anything from best place to buy X to what a crop new to you should look like when it comes out of the ground). And there are social events such as the BBQ we are having to celebrate the opening of the toilet on site.

      Sigh!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

