Thwaite Mill

Took some time out this afternoon and met up with a friend at Thwaite Mill Industrial Museum which has a still-functioning watermill. It also has some interesting countryside attached and a herb garden, the latter of which was of particular interest to me.

image

Thwaite Mill herb garden

I don’t think I will achieve anything like the garden featured in the above photo in the next few months but I now have a firmer idea of what I want, having seen this. There is a lot of work to do first of all: after cutting down the hawthorn bush at the back of the garden and making a new entrance in the fence where it has been growing, I would like to find a shed. Then everything in the Wendy house under my kitchen window can move there. This will at last liberate the ground it has been sitting on for the intended herb garden.

At one point I had thought of having a raised bed on the allotment for the herbs but a kitchen garden chez moi will be a whole lot more convenient and pleasurable, I’m sure.

It’s good to have plans, don’t you think? Makes it easier to focus at least!

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen, Social and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Thwaite Mill

  1. It is good to get inspiration from others and then make your plans just like you did now. I am trying to figure out myself how to plant my rows: I think it is difficult to make it look pretty and be functional. I hope that you are having the great weather we are having here. It is 19 Celcius right now.
    Honey

  2. Jane says:

    Dug a hole in my garden to find out how far down clay was ( part of the reason for the constant flooding) it was a 6 inches down!!!!!!!!!!!! Think we are going to dig it all up and put raised beds for veg etc in it… something I have longed for since moving in.. however hate having to be reliant on Mark and when he feels like doing it, as my back is too crock to start hard digging. Also he has said he will put a drain and some kind of pump under ground to my drain to get rid of excess rain water.. so exciting, but hard as I want it now!!
    Have you been to Meanwood Valley Urban farm lately? their gardens etc are good, they also have some inspiring allotments. L would enjoy the animals..

    • Actually, never been to Meanwood Valley Urbab Farm. Maybe something to do at half term?!

      My sister had drainage put under her clay and she finds it works very well. Apart from making your garden more manageable, it will be good for your house as well.

      I know what you mean about relying on other people. But sometimes it’s got to be done. Am sure your garden will look superb once you’ve got the raised beds in!!!

  3. yeah, i think the closer those herbs are too the back door the more luxurious it will seem!!

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

