Last year’s beetroot

After my digging extravaganza from Thursday to Monday I decided to have a day off and concentrate on home territory. It looks like it is going to rain – and do we need it! – but to be on the safe side I have just been out watering.

To my dismay, the beetroot I planted last year has bolted in the heat. At the same time, a few of the roots look like they can be used. I hope they are not woody – but there are also plenty of leaves, which have a spinach-like taste and which I enjoy eating as much (almost) as the roots.

I have come to the conclusion that beetroot does not like the soil in my garden. Hopefully, it will do better at the allotment….

At least this year I have got more of a crop than in previous years!!

image

© Helen Butt, May 2014

About Helen

I have always been interesting in living a more environmentally friendly lifestyle and used to do what I could. Now, I have come to realise that we have reached such a point in terms of environmental degradation that it is more important - perhaps - to focus on building resilience. I therefore do as much as I can to reuse, grow my own and encourage a supportive community, for example. I also keep reading and learning all the time.
This entry was posted in Gardening, In the kitchen and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Last year’s beetroot

  1. Reblogged this on Linda's wildlife garden and commented:
    awesome post thank you for sharing Helen

I love to read about your own experiences and any other feedback you have, so look forward to your comments below.

